Office of the Dean

Leadership Team and Council of Chairs

Under the direction of Dean Griffin, the leadership team oversees administrative areas that serve students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the College of Education. The dean also regularly convenes meetings with the Council of Chairs to discuss policies, administrative matters, and educational, research, and scholarly activities within the College. The Council of Chairs is made up of the leadership team, as well as department chairs, the chair of the Senate, the director of the Maryland English Institute, and the director of Educational Technology Services.

DEAN'S OFFICE

Title Name Room Email Phone
Dean

 

Kimberly Griffith

Kimberly Griffin

3119D kgriff29@umd.edu 301-405-2334
Chief of Staff

 

Testudo

Andrea Norris

3119C anorris@umd.edu 301-405-2336

Associate Dean
Educator Preparation & Undergraduate Studies

 

Megan Peercy

Megan Madigan Peercy

3119E mpeercy@umd.edu 301-405-0067

Interim Associate Dean
Faculty Affairs

Patricia Alexander

Patricia Alexander

3119G palexand@umd.edu 301-405-2335

Associate Dean
Research, Innovation, and Partnerships

 

Ana Toboada Barber

Ana Taboada Barber

3119B ataboada@umd.edu 301-405-1933

Executive Director
Teacher Education

 

Ebony Terrell Shockley

Ebony Terrell Shockley

2304B eterrell@umd.ed 301-405-4959
Diversity Officer

 

Bridget Turner

Bridget Turner Kelly

3232 btkelly1@umd.edu 301-405-0023
Chair
COE Senate

 

David Toledo

David Toledo

3304J dtoledo@umd.edu 301-405-7129

OFFICE OF DEVELOPMENT AND ALUMNI RELATIONS

Title

Name

Room

Email

Phone

Assistant Dean
Development and Alumni Relations

 

Kurt Sudbrink

Kurt Sudbrink

1304 

sudbrink@umd.edu

301-405-8874

OFFICE OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION

Title Name Room Email Phone

Assistant Dean
Finance and Administration

 

Hakim Scott

D. Hakim Scott

1308  dhscott@umd.edu 301-405-9263

Director
Educational Technology Services

 

Steve Pragel

Steve Pragel

0223  spragel@umd.edu

301-405-3618

 

OFFICE OF MARKETING AND COMMUNICATIONS

Title

Name

Room

Email

Phone

Director
Marketing and Communications

 

Natifia Mullings

Natifia Mullings

1308 

mullings@umd.edu

301-405-3468

DEPARTMENT CHAIRS

Title Name Room Email Phone

Professor and Chair
Department of Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education 

 

William Liu

William Ming Liu

3112  willmliu@umd.edu 301-405-0099

Professor and Chair
Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodology

 

Laura Stapleton

Laura Stapleton

  lstaplet@umd.edu 301-405-1933
Professor and Chair
Department of Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership

 

Francine Hultgren

Francine Hultgren

2311 fh@umd.edu 301-405-4501

MARYLAND ENGLISH INSTITUTE 

Director
Maryland English Institute

 

Testudo

Elizabeth Driver 

1117 Cole Student
Activities Building
edriver@umd.edu 301-405-0346