Field Committee in Developmental Science

The following faculty are members of the Field Committee in Developmental Science. Faculty at the University of Maryland who would like to join the committee should contact the committee spokesperson, Dr. Melanie Killen (mkillen@umd.edu).

Sophie Aiyer

Research Assistant Professor

African-American Studies

saiyer@umd.edu

Oscar Barbarin

Professor & Chair

African-American Studies

barbarin@umd.edu

Jonathan Beier

Assistant Professor

Psychology

jsbeier@umd.edu

Donald Bolger

Assistant Professor

Human Development

djbolger@umd.edu

Lucas Butler

Assistant Professor

Human Development

lpbutler@gmail.com

Natasha Cabrera

Professor

Human Development

ncabrera@umd.edu

Jude Cassidy

Professor

Psychology

jcassidy@psyc.umd.edu

Jane Clark

Professor

Kinesiology

jeclark@umd.edu

David Chae

Assistant Professor

Epidemiology & Biostatistics

hdchae@umd.edu

Andrea Chronis

Associate Professor

Psychology

achronis@psyc.umd.edu

Norman Epstein

Professor

Family Studies

nbe@umd.edu

Sandra Hofferth

Professor

Family Studies

hoffererth@umd.edu

Yi Ting Huang

Assistant Professor

Hearing & Speech Sci.

ythuang@umd.edu

Nathan Fox

Professor & Interim Chair

Human Development

fox@umd.edu

William Idsardi

Associate Professor

Linguistics

idsardi@umd.edu

Melanie Killen

Professor

Human Development

mkillen@umd.edu

Sally Koblinsky

Professor

Family Studies

koblinsk@umd.edu

Jeff Lidz

Professor

Linguistics

jlidz@umd.edu

Rochelle Newman

Professor

Hearing & Speech Sci.

rnewman1@umd.edu

Colin Phillips

Professor

Linguistics

colin@glue.umd.edu

Richard Prather

Assistant Professor

Human Development

prather1@umd.edu

Geetha Ramani

Assistant Professor

Human Development

gramani@umd.edu

Nan Bernstein Ratner

Professor & Chair

Hearing & Speech Sci.

nratner@umd.edu

Elizabeth Redcay

Assistant Professor

Psychology

redcay@psyc.umd.edu

Tracy Riggins

Assistant Professor

Psychology

riggins@umd.edu

Alexa Romberg

Assistant Research Scientist

Human Development

aromberg@umd.edu

Ken Rubin

Professor

Human Development

krubin@umd.edu

Ellin Scholnick

Professor Emerita

Psychology

escholnick@psyc.umd.edu

Edmond Shenassa

Professor

Family Science

shenassa@umd.edu

Natalie Slopen

Assistant Professor

Epidemiology & Biostatistics

nslopen@umd.edu

Judith Torney-Purta

Professor

Human Development

jtpurta@umd.edu

Min Wang

Professor

Human Development

minwang@umd.edu

Amy Weinberg

Professor

Linguistics/UMIACS

weinberg@umiacs.umd.edu

Kathryn Wentzel

Professor

Human Development

wentzel@umd.edu

Allan Wigfield

Professor

Human Development

awigfiel@umd.edu

Andrea Zukowski

Research Associate

Linguistics

zukowski@glue.umd.edu

Kelly Mix

Professor

Human Development

kmix@umd.edu

Cixin Wang

Professor

Human Development

cxwang@umd.edu

Melanie Killen, Co-spokesperson, Professor, Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodolgy
mkillen@umd.edu

Jude Cassidy, Co-spokesperson, Professor, Department of Psychology
jcassidy@umd.edu

Jeffrey Lidz, Committee Member, Professor, Department of Linguistics
jlidz@umd.edu

Rochelle Newman, Committee Member, Professor and Chair, Department of Hearing and Speech Sciences
rnewman1@umd.edu

Tracy Riggins, Committee Member, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology
riggins@umd.edu

Elizabeth Redcay, Committee Member, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology
redcay@umd.edu

Jonathan Beier, Committee Member, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology
jsbeier@umd.edu

Lucas Butler, Committee Member, Assistant Professor, Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodology
lpbutler@umd.edu

Natasha Cabrera, Committee Member, Professor, Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodology
ncabrera@umd.edu

Brandon Terrizzi, Committee Member, Doctoral Student, Department of Psychology
terrizzi@umd.edu

Alexander D'Esterre, Committee Member, Doctoral Student, Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodology
desterre@umd.edu

There are a number of graduate programs that offer state of the art doctoral training in developmental science. Prospective students should apply to the program that most closely matches their research interests and training goals. A good place to begin is to follow the links provided below. Students within these programs have access to the activities and resources of the Field Committee in Developmental Science.


Family Studies (http://www.hhp.umd.edu/FMST/ )

Hearing and Speech Sciences:  (http://www.bsos.umd.edu/hesp/)

Human Development and Quantitative Methodology: (http://www.education.umd.edu/EDHD/)

Kinesiology ( http://www.hhp.umd.edu/KNES/ )

Linguistics (http://www.ling.umd.edu/)

Psychology ( http://www.psychology.umd.edu )

Neuroscience and Cognitive Science ( http://www.nacs.umd.edu )

The courses listed below have been identified by the Committee faculty as providing foundational training in developmental science for doctoral students across disciplines. In principle, these courses are open to any doctoral student affiliated with the Committee. For questions about registration, contact Graduate Coordinators in the department listed below. Developmental Science Spokesperson is Melanie Killen (mkillen@umd.edu) and Coordinator is Matthew Barstead (barstead@umd.edu)

 

EDHD 750 Culture, Context, and Development 

EDHD 720 Social Development 

EDHD 721 Cognitive Development and Learning

EDHD 820 Advanced Topics in Social Development

EDHD 850 Social Cognition and Moral Development 

EDHD 821 Socialization Processes in Human Development II 

EDHD 835 Achievement Motivation 

EDHD 775 Psychophysiological Processes in Human Development I 

EDHD 711 Peer-Culture and Group Processes in Human Development 

EDHD 779T Reading Acquisition in Young Children 

FMST 698S Analysis of Family Systems and Dysfunction 

FMST 606 Ethnic Families 

FMST 641 Couples Therapy: Theory and Techniques (Prerequisite: FMST 640). 

FMST 645 Sexuality: Issues in Family Therapy and Service Delivery

FMST 698Q Qualitative Methods in Family Research 

HESP 604 Acoustic and Perceptual Phonetics

HESP 602 Neurological Bases of Communication 

HESP 838 Seminar in Language Acquisition 

HESP 888  Seminar in Neurobases of language 

HESP 818  Seminar in Language Processing

KNES 603 Advanced Motor Development 

KNES 689G Visuomotor coordination across the lifespan 

KNES 689P Development of Posture and Locomotion 

KNES 703 Advanced Seminar: Motor Development 

LING 640 - Psycholinguistics I 

LING 641 Issues in Psycholinguistics 

LING 849 - Seminar in Psycholinguistics

LING 646: Cognitive Neuroscience of Language 

LING 859: Seminar in Language Acquisition

NACS 728D: Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience

PSYC 611 Advanced Developmental Psychology 

PSYC 623 Child Psychopathology 

PSYC 632 Behavioral and Cognitive Behavioral Intervention for Children and Adolescents 

PSYC 679A Seminar in Cognitive Development

PSYC 757: Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience 

PSYC 789/NACS 728G: Early Social Cognition

PSYC 798L Graduate Seminar: Attachment 

PSYC798J Development of Social Cognition

Graduate Students

Tyson Barker (Human Development), tvbarker@umd.edu

Matthew Barstead (Human Development), barstead@umd.edu

Sarah Blankenship (NACS), slblank@umd.edu

Bonnie Brett (Psychology), bonniebrett@gmail.com

Katherine Ehrlich (Psychology), ehrlichk@umd.edu

Kelsey Canada (Psychology), kcanada@umd.edu

Emily Daubert (Human Development), edaubert@umd.edu

Aimee Drouin (Human Development), adrouin@umd.edu

Yue Du (Kinesiology) duyue@umd.edu 

Laura Elenbaas (Human Development), elenbaas@umd.edu

Kecia Ellick (Family Science), kellick@umd.edu

Kathryn Ellison (Human Development), katellis@umd.edu

Brandee Feola (Human Development), brandeelfeola@gmail.com

Jackie Gross (Psychology), jgross@umd.edu

Sara Haas (Human Development), sahaas@umd.edu

Sara Heverly-Fitt (Human Development), sfitt@umd.edu

Amy Ho (Human Development), amyho@umd.edu

Jenna Goldstein Suway (Human Development), jngold@umd.edu

Sarah Helfinstein (Human Development), shelfins@gmail.com

Catherine Kuhns (Human Development), catherinekuhns@gmail.com

David Martin (Psychology), dmartin@umd.edu

Sarah McCruden (Hearing & Speach Science),mccruden@umd.edu

Jenessa Malin (Human Development), jlmalin@umd.edu

Amanda Mason-Singh (Human Development), ammason@umd.edu

Colleen Morrison (Human Development), cimonaha@umd.edu

Giovanna Morini (Hearing &Speach Sciences), gmorni@umd.edu

Jeeyoung Noh (Human Development), smilejynumd@gmail.com

Melissa Pangelinan (NACS), pangel@umd.edu

Alison Robey (Psychology), arobey@umd.edu

Leslie Rollins (Psychology, Developmental), leslie.a.rollins@gmail.com

Katherine Ann Rice (Psychology, Developmental), krice@umd.edu

Michael Rizzo (Human Development), mtrizzo@umd.edu

Virginia Salo (Human Development), virginia.salo@gmail.com

Laura J. Sherman (Psychology), laurajsherm@gmail.com

Jessica Stern (Psychology), jastern@umd.edu

Brandi Stupica (Psychology), bstupica@umd.edu

Simone Templeton (Human Development), stemple@umd.edu

Brandon F. Terrizzi (Psychology), terrizi@umd.edu

Sonya Troller-Renfree (Human Development), str@umd.edu

Ross Vanderwert (Human Development), rvanderw@umd.edu

Laura K. White (Human Development), lwhite5@umd.edu

Vanessa Williams (NACS), vmwillia@umd.edu

Te-Hsin Wu (Hearing & Speach Science)

Amanda Burkholder (Human Development)

Alexander D'Esterre (Human Development)

Avery Hennigar (Human Development)

 

Post Doctoral Researchers

Kathryn Amey Degnan (Human Development), kdegnan@umd.edu 

Erin Cannon (Psychology), ecannon@umd.edu

Fengji Geng (Psychology), gengf@umd.edu

Erin Lewis-Morrarty (Psychology), morrarty@umd.edu

Ozge Metin Aslan (Human Development), metinozge@gmail.com 

Bethany Reeb (Human Development), breeb@umd.edu

Olga Lydia Walker (Human Development),omoas@umd.edu

To post an event, please contact Alexander D'Esterre at desterre@umd.edu

Roots of Compassion: From Basic Science to Practice: March 4th, 2016

For the 2015-2016 Academic Year, the Developmental Science Field Committee is pleased to sponsor Roots of Compassion: From Basic Science to Practice. The workshop will take place Friday, March 4th, from 9:00 AM until 4:30 PM. If you have questions, please contact Jessica Stern at jastern@umd.edu. Click below to view the event flyer as a PDF:

2015-2016 Sponsored Workshop Instructions and Application

The Graduate Field Committee in Developmental Science provides graduate students an opportunity to plan a workshop on a topic aligned with their interests. Funding will be awarded in order to offset the cost of the workshop. In order to submit a proposal for a funded workshop during the 2015-2016 academic year, please CLICK HERE for submission instructions. To see examples of previously funded workshops see below.

Previously Funded GFCDS Workshops - 2012

Introduction to the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study- Birth Cohort (ECLS-B)

On July 30, the Graduate Field Committee in Developmental Science sponsored a student-led workshop on the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study-Birth Cohort dataset. More than 40 students and faculty members from across campus joined together to learn about using this nationally representative dataset of U.S. children.

For more information about the workshop, click here for the flyer and the report

Morality: An Interdisciplinary Science Linking the Brain, Behavior, and Society

This one-day workshop took place on December 7th, 2012. The program consisted of a series of invited talks followed by question and discussion periods, and a final panel discussion facilitated by the workshop organizers that incorporated questions collected from participants throughout the day (see link below for workshop flyer). Talks covered research in the areas of psychology, human development, public policy, neuroscience, law, and philosophy..

For more information about the workshop, click here for the flyer and the report

 

Center for Children, Relationships and Culture Colloquium

Wednesdays,12:15 to 2:00 PM, Benjamin Building Room 1121

UM Center for CRC Colloquia Series Spring 2016

 

University of Maryland Cognitive Science Colloquium

Thursdays, 3:30-5:30 Bioscience Research Building Room 1103

Schedule

 

Neuroscience and Cognitive Science Colloquium

Fridays, 12:00-2:00 Biology-Psychology Building Room 1208

Schedule

 

The Maryland Linguistics Colloquium Series

Fridays, 3:00-4:30 Marie Mount Hall Room 3416

Schedule 

 

Hearing and Speech Sciences Seminar Series

Wedensdays, 12:00-1:00 LeFrak Hall Room 2208

Schedule

 

 

The Field Committee in Developmental Science maintains a listserv list for disseminating information about events on and off campus of interest to developmental scientists.

Anyone may join the listserv list by emailing listserv@listserv.umd.edu and typing the following message into the body of the email:

subscribe devsci Your Name

To post a message to the list, send email to devsci@umd.eduOnly members may post messages to the list serve

Please use this listserv list to disseminate information about talks, workshops, conference, symposia, seminars, classes and other events that will be of interest to developmental scientists (faculty, postdocs and students) across campus. This is also a good way to let people know about student research/job opportunities, or to send research/teaching related inquires to colleagues.

Please use this list only for academic business.