Accolades: Faculty and Staff Awards and Honors (2022-2023)


Below are awards and honors College of Education faculty and staff have earned between September 2022 and August 2023:

Department Abbreviations 
CHSE | Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education
HDQM | Human Development and Qualitative Methodology 
TLPL | Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership

Daniel Chazan, professor (TLPL), was selected as a UMD Distinguished Scholar-Teacher for demonstrating outstanding scholarly accomplishments and excellence in teaching.

Susan de la Paz Ph.D. ’95, professor (CHSE), and Colleen O'Neal, associate professor (CHSE), received Fulbright Scholar Awards to teach and conduct research in Vietnam and to teach in Malaysia, respectively.

Brittany Devies, lecturer (CHSE), was inducted into the American Association of Colleges and Universities’ Future Leaders Society. She also received the NASPA Student Leadership Programs and Knowledge Community’s Outstanding Emerging Professional Award.

Branden Elmore, associate research professor (CHSE), received the 2023 NASPA NOW Professional Award for demonstrating a spirit of curiosity that has led to more engaging programs for students.

Drew S. Fagan, associate clinical professor (TLPL), was named the 2023 TESOL Teacher of the Year Award by theTeaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) International Association. He also received the Distinguished Alumni-Early Career Award from Teachers College, Columbia University. 

Sharon Fries-Britt ’81, Ph.D. ’94 (CHSE) was named a Distinguished University Professor. As the highest appointment UMD bestows upon tenured faculty, the professorship recognizes excellence, impact and significant contributions to the field. She also received the Robert H. Shaffer Award for Academic Excellence as a Graduate Faculty Member from NASPA—Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education. Fries-Britt and Bridget Turner Kelly M.A. ’96, Ph.D. ’01, associate professor (CHSE), were honored as UMD Graduate Faculty Mentors of the Year. 

Kimberly Griffin, M.A. ’01, Ph.D., dean and professor (CHSE), was named to the 2023 Rick Hess Straight Up (RHSU) Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings by Education Week for the second year in a row. 

Courtney Holder, assistant director of the Leadership Studies Program (CHSE), and Melissa Rocco Ph.D. ’17, affiliate assistant professor (CHSE), were named Impact Fellows with the Aspen Institute’s Leadership Development Index. The initiative aims to advance the access to and quality of youth leadership development programs.

Veronica Kang, assistant professor (CHSE); Melanie Killen, professor (HDQM); Jioni Lewis, associate professor (CHSE); Rossina Zamora Liu ’98, assistant professor (TLPL); Campbell Scribner, assistant professor (TLPL); Min Wang, professor (HDQM); and Taylor Woodman M.A. ’19, Ph.D. ’19, assistant clinical professor (CHSE) were granted Faculty-Student Research Awards from the UMD Graduate School. The award supports faculty-led projects that directly involve graduate students.

Susan Komives, professor emerita (CHSE), was recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Leadership Association. 

Peter Leone, professor emeritus (CHSE), was awarded the 2023 Leadership Prize by the Juvenile Law Center for his decades of research on improving equity and access to education for youth in the juvenile justice system.

Daniel Levin Ph.D. ’08, associate clinical professor (TLPL), received the Linda Clement Outstanding Advisor Award from UMD’s Annual University Student Leadership Awards program.

Jioni Lewis, associate professor (CHSE), received the 2022 Early Career Psychologists Award from the American Psychological Association (APA). She was also named an APA Fellow for her significant contributions to the field of psychology. 

Jing Liu, assistant professor (TLPL), was named a Maryland Research Excellence Celebration Honoree by UMD. He was also one of six innovators to win the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation’s Future of Data in K-12 Education Design Challenge. 

Candace Moore (CHSE) was appointed to an endowed professorship as the Harold R. W. Benjamin Professor for the College of Education. In this role, she focuses on eradicating racism in education globally and domestically, with an emphasis on Black liberation.

Alana Murray ’98, Ph.D. ’12, adjunct faculty member (TLPL), was recognized with the Middle States Council for Social Studies’ Harry J. Carman Award for her support of social studies through effective research, teaching, integrity, service and professional excellence.

Rachel Romeo, assistant professor (HDQM), was recognized with two awards for early career contributions to research, from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and the Society for Research in Child Development.

Kenneth H. Rubin, professor (HDQM), was honored with the APA’s Award for Distinguished Contributions to Developmental Psychology in recognition of his work’s scientific merit and importance.

Lena Morreale Scott, director of Civic Education and Engagement Initiative, was given Transform Mid-Atlantic’s Civic Leadership Award for contributing to the development of civic and community engagement in the Maryland, Washington, D.C., and Delaware region.

Laura Stapleton Ph.D. ’01, chair and professor (HDQM), was named a 2023 American Educational Research Association (AERA) fellow in recognition of her exceptional contributions to, and excellence in, education research.

Ebony Terrell Shockley Ph.D. ’12, executive director for educator preparation (TLPL), was elected to serve as a council member of the AERA Middle-Level Education Research Special Interest Group. She was also appointed by Maryland Governor Wes Moore to serve on the Professional Standards and Teacher Education Board for three years. 

Margaret Walker, associate clinical professor (TLPL), was awarded the 2023 Eastern Region Higher Education Art Educator Award by the National Art Education Association.

Jade Wexler was chosen as the inaugural recipient of the College of Education’s Dean’s Impact Professorship for her impactful research and scholarship on improving literacy outcomes for students with learning disabilities. In addition, she was among the UMD faculty recognized for best exemplifying research excellence at the 2023 Maryland Research Excellence Celebration.

Cixin Wang, associate professor (CHSE), was honored with the Distinguished Contributions to Practice Award by Asian American Psychological Association for her career contributions to promoting Asian Americans and Pacific Islander Americans’ mental health.

The Center for Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education received a Special Merit Award from the Association for the Study of Higher Education.