Benjamin Building

Interim Dean Laura Stapleton selected by Governor Hogan For Accountability and Implementation Board

Photo of Laura Stapleton

On Friday, October 1, 2021, Governor Lawrence J. Hogan Jr. announced his selection for the Blueprint for Maryland’s Future Accountability and Implementation Board (AIB). Interim Dean of the College of Education, Laura Stapleton, has been selected by Governor Hogan for the seven-member board charged with ensuring the success of the plans outlined in the Blueprint for Maryland’s Future. 

The Blueprint for Maryland’s Future is an education reform plan intended to close student achievement gaps and transform the state’s education system over the next decade. The AIB will be instrumental in realizing the education reforms sought through the multi-billion-dollar plan designed to close student achievement gaps over the next ten years. Each of the governor’s selections is subject to confirmation by the Senate of the State of Maryland.

“I am honored to be selected for the AIB; it has the important and daunting task of ensuring the successful implementation of the Blueprint for Maryland's Future” said Stapleton.  “I am hopeful that my expertise in education evaluation, measurement, and experience with the Maryland Longitudinal Data System Center will help to foster the work of the Board, give voice to the many stakeholders around the State, and, ultimately, provide equitable education to all students in Maryland.”

The members of the Accountability and Implementation Board selected by Hogan are:

  • Isiah “Ike” Leggett, former Montgomery County executive and currently a member of the University System of Maryland Board of Regents, who was appointed to the regents by Hogan.
  • Mara Doss, the associate vice president for teaching, learning and student success at Prince George’s Community College.
  • Fagan Harris, chief executive officer of Baltimore Corps, a nonprofit that recruits talented professionals and connects them to leadership opportunities.
  • William “Brit” Kirwan, the chair of the Commission on Innovation and Excellence in Education, whose policy recommendations make up the foundation of the Blueprint for Maryland’s Future.
  • Joseph Manko, the education program officer for the Abell Foundation and previously an elementary school principal in Baltimore City Public Schools for 10 years.
  • Laura Stapleton, the interim dean of the University of Maryland, College Park College of Education and a professor in human development and quantitative methodology.
  • Jennifer Lynch, the director of educational partnerships for Baltimore County Executive John A. Olszewski Jr. (D) and previously an elementary school principal in Baltimore City Public Schools for five years.

To learn more about The Blueprint for Maryland’s Future, please visit