Alumni & Giving

College of Education Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards

College of Education Alumni have been fearlessly leading efforts to tackle our world's grand challenges since their graduation.  To recognize this work annually, the College of Education Alumni Network selects inspiring EdTerps for one of the following alumni awards.  

Nomination forms for the 2023 Alumni Awards are now closed. 2023 winners are listed below. 2024 Alumni Award Applications will be available by March. 

Outstanding Alumni Award 

This award is given to a nominee who has demonstrated excellence through leadership and innovation succeeding their graduation from the College of Education. This award is meant to recognize those who have become pillars in their respective field/area, be it through service, entrepreneurship, or academic scholarship. This includes those who have led or inspired change, who have risen to esteemed positions, or who have served their communities exceptionally. 

2023 Winner: Dr. Michael J. Martirano '81, M.Ed. '85, '92
Dr. Martirano currently serves as the superintendent for Howard County Public School Systems. 

Previous Winners: Alana Murray (2022), Elizabeth Stuart Whitehead (2021), Justin Van Fleet (2019), David Edwards (2018) 

Alumni Volunteer of the Year Award 

This award is given to a nominee who has demonstrated continued support, involvement, and volunteerism to the College of Education. This award is meant to recognize someone who has dedicated their time, talents, and efforts to volunteering with the College in some capacity. Examples of involvement could include (but are not limited to) service on the Alumni Network Board, Board of Visitors, volunteerism for College of Education events, mentoring students, etc.

2023 Winner: Dr. Clemmie Solomon Ph.D. '96
Dr. Solomon is a retired educator who now serves on the College of Education's Board of Visitors. 

Previous Winners: Tiffany Ayiku (2022), Linda Pieplow (2020) 

Alumni Student Impact Award 

This is intended to be a lifetime achievement award, given to a nominee who has dedicated their career in service to students. This award recognizes the contributions of an alumni whose longevity in their position allowed them to have a significant, positive impact on countless students.

2023 Winner: Dr. Amanda Knapp Ph.D. '13
Dr. Knapp currently serves as the Associate Vice President and Assistant Dean at University of Maryland, Baltimore County. 

Alumni Changemaker Award

This award is given to a nominee who has done work that has "changed the conversation" in the field of education through their work in the pursuit of diversity, equity, and inclusion. In other words, this award is meant to recognize an alumni who has done work that has served or focused on historically marginalized populations and has offered new perspectives, has broken away from traditional understandings, or has created notable change in experiences and outcomes.

2023 Winner: Dr. Brian Burt M.A. '06
Brian currently serves as the Associate Professor for the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.